[ALOUD]

Conversations, Readings, Performances

[ALOUD] brings together today’s brightest cultural, scientific, and political luminaries with the curious minds of Los Angeles.

[ALOUD]
Thu, Oct 02, 7:15 PM [ALOUD]
Homer...the Rewrite

Madeline Miller and Zachary Mason

In conversation with Molly Pulda, Provost's Postdoctoral Scholar in the Humanities, USC

Sat, Oct 04, 8:00 AM
Commit a Poem to Memory Day



Sun, Oct 05, 9:00 AM
The L.A. Odyssey Project at CicLAvia



Tue, Oct 07, 7:15 PM [ALOUD]
Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh

John Lahr

In conversation with author Armistead Maupin

Fri, Oct 10, 7:30 PM
Lost & Found at the Movies: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Ithaca

Featuring professor Alex Purves (UCLA Department of Classics)

with series curator John Nein, Senior Programmer, Sundance Film Festival

Sat, Oct 11, 8:00 AM
The Library Store On Wheels


at the California Science Center, Saturday October 11 from 8:00am-4:00pm


Thu, Oct 16, 7:15 PM [ALOUD]
Deep Down Dark: The Untold Stories of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine, and the Miracle that Set Them Free

Héctor Tobar

In conversation with author Jesse Katz

Sat, Oct 18, 11:00 AM
The Library Store On Wheels

At Memorial Library, Saturday October 18 from 11:00am-3:00pm


Tue, Oct 21, 7:15 PM [ALOUD]
Co-presented with the Consulate General of Poland
Fomenting Democracy: From Poland's Solidarity to Egypt's Tahrir Square

Adam Michnik and Yasmine El Rashidi

In conversation with radio producer Mike Shuster

Wed, Oct 22, 7:30 PM
The Library Store On Wheels

at Lit Crawl LA: NoHo, Wednesday October 22 starting at 7:30pm


Thu, Oct 23, 7:15 PM [ALOUD]
The Poet as Citizen

Robin Coste Lewis and Claudia Rankine

In conversation with Maggie Nelson, author and faculty, CalArts

Sat, Oct 25, 10:00 AM
Our Odyssey : A Reading of Homer's Epic By the People and For the People



Mon, Oct 27, 7:15 PM [ALOUD]
The Warrior's Return: From Surge to Suburbia

David Finkel and Albert "Skip" Rizzo

In conversation with Tom Curwen, L.A. Times writer-at-large

Thu, Oct 30, 7:15 PM [ALOUD]
The Republic of Imagination: America in Three Books

Azar Nafisi


[ALOUD]
October 2014 Events < >
S M T W T F S
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  

Weekly [ALOUD] eAlert

Subscribe to the Weekly ALOUD eAlert.

About [ALOUD]

Visit the About section to learn more about the history of [ALOUD] events at the Los Angeles Public Library. More

 
Featured In Our Store